Cardinal Dragon, Mutable Dragon and Fixed Dragon

In my post on “The Moon’s Nodes: The Eclipse and its Dragon (3)”
I conjectured that the cardinal dragon could be “the serpentine path of domicile rulers from Cancer to Capricorn” and that this might have to be abandoned at a later time when another more convincing stream of thought arises. Well, it has come sooner than expected.

I think now that we might be able to see these three aspects in the nodes themselves. I will be focusing on the mutable aspect of the nodes for awhile yet. But I think this is a worthwhile avenue of exploration. Perhaps it can give a deeper differentiation in an interpretation of the nodes than has hitherto be done. I will explore this when we actually get to looking at various charts. In mundane and natal charts this might be of especial interest.

The cardinal dragon can be seen as the serpentine movement of the ecliptic from the winter solstice (Capricorn) and the summer solstice (Cancer). This seems more plausible, particularily since the ecliptic is involved. Titus Burckhardt in his “Alchemie” (I only have the German edition, so once again I will give the German text and then translate it) makes the following statement in his discussion of the Caduceus:

“Für die Alchemie sind beiden Schlangen oder Drachen dargestellten Kräfte der Schwefel und das Quecksilber. Ihr kosmisches Vorbild sind die beiden zu- und abnehmenden Windungen der Sonnenbahn, die durch die Winter- und die Sommersonnenwende geschieden werden” (Alchemie, s. 148)

” The snakes or dragons (of the Caduceus) are in alchemy expressions of the power inherent in Sulphur and Mercury. Their cosmic image are the two upward and downward curves of the ecliptic that is divided by the winter and summer solstices.”

John Frawley also notes in his article “Homer Sweet Homer” in his magazine “The Astrologer’s Apprentice”; that “…the Moon’s nodes ‘ought’ to lie on the solstitial axis…(They)…are the junctures of the orbits of Sun and Moon, and so just as the solstice points, they mark the gates at which the divine and the material meet.” (“The Astrologer’s Apprentice” Issue 21, p. 13)*

*This article, like so much of John Frawley’s work, is highly recommended.

10 thoughts on “Cardinal Dragon, Mutable Dragon and Fixed Dragon

  1. Dear Thomas

    I just want to say how much I am enjoying your dissertation on the Nodes, but I wonder if you would kindly clarify for me just what you mean by the term ‘Mutable Nodes’?

    You say that you are going to explore this ‘mutable aspect’ of the Nodes in mundane and natal charts, and I wonder if this will eventually lead to a critique of the transiting Nodes through the signs?

    I would like that :0)

    Love
    CarO

  2. Dear Caroline,

    Thank you so much for your comment, Indeed for your other comments as well. It is very helpful for me to know whether the content I am presenting in this weblog is also clear to my readers. It is one thing to see something with ones intellect and another to express it clearly to someone else!

    There cannot be a “wrong” question when it is truly meant, so take heart, dear reader, if something isn’t clear, ask. I don’t bite.

    As you can see from the discussion so far there are certain points that clarify themselves with time.

    Yes I think it is possible to explore the qualitative differences the nodes have in each of the three qualities of cardinal, mutable and fixed, and from there their influence in each sign. We have to explore the deep imagery first, and that is why I will focus a lot on the “mutable dragon” in future posts, probably day after tommorrow.

    At one point I would like to explore various charts, but we can’t do that yet without having the tools to do so.

    There is another reason why I have begun this discussion – dissertation as you call it. There is a notable lack of material, devoted directly to the nodes, that is based on the western tradition. There are bits and pieces but I think it is time to make a beginning in remedying this.

    I am sure that there are others who might be working in this direction and would welcome further discussion from them or any reference which might increase a general understanding.

    with deep regard,
    Thomas

  3. Hello Thomas,

    ” The snakes or dragons (of the Caduceus) are in alchemy expressions of the power inherent in Sulphur and Mercury. Their cosmic image are the two upward and downward curves of the ecliptic that is divided by the winter and summer solstices.”

    I found this so interesting, just the other day I came across an alchemical reference to Sulphur, Mercury, and Salt as a triad of forces. Sulphur being active, Mercury as mutable spirit (if I understood correctly?) and salt being the manifestation of physicality from the mutible spirit, I think? as activiated by the Sulphur.

    I was wondering if you might have some kind of insight to this and where salt falls into play with regards to astrology?

    I’d be most grateful,
    Thank-you!
    Hazel

  4. Dear Hazel,

    Yes, a very provocative idea. I think you have something there! I was just beginning to wonder myself whether the fixed dragon might in this context be something other than the constellation Draco mentioned a few posts ago.

    Salt can indeed be described astrologically. Will you give me a day or two, maybe three?

    Thank you so much for your posts! 🙂

    Salt of the earth. The imagery opens a very fruitful line of thought, yes.

    You are most welcome!
    best wishes,
    Thomas

  5. Ahah! The penny has dropped!

    A Mutable Node is just when the Nodes are in Mutable Houses LOL!

    I see – I was looking for something else with all the talk of Draco – sorry to be so dim :0)

    Love
    CarO

  6. Dear CarO,

    It might seem a little confusing, but we can speak of a mutable node and a mutable dragon. What I mean by mutable dragon will become clearer in tomorrow’s post.

    No, you are not dim!

    warmest regards,
    Thomas

  7. Dear Thomas

    Sincere congratulations on your new website! (And my apologies for being so tardy.)

    In addition I’m really enjoying your chosen debut subject – there is so little cohesive writing on the Nodes. It’s great that you’ve chosen to start at the beginning with the images which are so evocative. As you say:

    “There is a notable lack of material, devoted directly to the nodes, that is based on the western tradition. There are bits and pieces but I think it is time to make a beginning in remedying this.”

    Looking forward immensely to seeing how it all unfolds!

    While I’m not a very good riddle solver at this point in time – I may just get better with your teasers 😉

    Thanks Thomas

    🙂
    Vicki

  8. Dear Vicki,

    Thank you very much for your congratulations. I am really delighted to hear from you!

    I am glad you are enjoying the material that is being presented. It is really fascinating and as I have gathered so much I thought it was time to share it.
    There is nothing worse that sitting on knowledge like a dragon!

    If there is any point that is unclear, please feel free to comment. Just as there is no wrong question there also is no perfect answer! .-)

    Solving riddles comes with practice so you are always welcome to make a guess.

    your welcome,
    warm regards,
    Thomas

Leave a Reply

